Brenda Cheers – Author

Brenda Cheers – Author

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

January 13, 2016

The survivors of the global pandemic are living in Maleny, Australia. Meg insists that the community be a place of peace and has fostered such a respect for human life that the very thought of harming another member of the settlement is unheard of.
Melisandre’s best friend is Gareth, the sparkly-eyed grandson of Meg and William. After an encounter between the two in the forest, Melisandre begins to wonder about Gareth. She always thought he was a bit different, but are his problems worse than that? Others in the community seem to think so, but what can be done with him?
Grace arrives at the settlement with a determination to ensure a better world in the time where she belongs. This proves easier said than done. Will she be able to complete her mission, or will her plans be thwarted by people with their own agendas?
In this final installment of the Strange Worlds series, we witness a woman’s fight to save those she loves from terrible fates. If only she could find a way…
Praise for the Strange Worlds series:
‘A thrilling series from a master storyteller.’ (Amazon Customer)


Cato’s Prophecy

March 15, 2015

When William arrives back in the year 2467, it is to a world he no longer recognizes. His peaceful existence has been replaced by one in which an Emperor rules by tyranny and fear. What has caused this catastrophe?

To Grace, the appearance of William is a miracle, a sign that Cato’s Prophecy is about to come true. Can she perform her undercover role cleverly enough to ensure the old time traveler’s safety, so he can free her people?

The third in the acclaimed ‘Strange Worlds’ series, Cato’s Prophecy is another unpredictable page-turner from the author who brought you “In Conversations with Strangers”.

The Secrets of Julia Hawke

February 11, 2015

Julia Hawke and her friend Rachel are celebrating the end of their final year of schooling. They deceive their parents and embark on an adventure to the Gold Coast of Queensland.

Many years later, Julia is still keeping secrets in an attempt to hide what happened during those few, fateful days. A series of events force her to realise that keeping these secrets comes at too great a cost. What can Julia do to regain the trust of those she loves?

“The Secrets of Julia Hawke” explores, not only the destructive nature of secrets, but also the miracle of unconditional friendship.

In a Time Where They Belong

May 31, 2014




In “A Time Where They Belong” all the big questions are answered:

What happened to Meg?

What caused the global catastrophe?

In Strange Worlds

January 13, 2014

What would you do if you woke up one morning to find that you were the only person left alive?

That’s what happens to Meg on the day after she is admitted to hospital for the birth of her child.
What follows is a fight for survival in a world where battles between good and evil constantly rage around her.
Just as Meg is about to discover the truth about this new world, she finds the rules have changed yet again, and she is back where it all began.
From the author of In a House in Yemen, In Times of Trouble and In Conversations with Strangers, In Strange Worlds takes the reader on a fascinating journey, where everything isn’t always what it seems to be.

In Conversations with Strangers

January 10, 2014

A woman arrives home unexpectedly to find a scene so shocking that it causes her to lose all reason.

She embarks on a road trip across Australia, from Brisbane to Broome, indulging in uncharacteristic behaviour that becomes more degrading and dangerous the further she travels.

In a strange contradiction, people she has never met begin to tell her about defining events in their lives. Realising the important messages these stories contain, Janine records each one in writing, intending to publish them in a single volume. This project is her only hope of staying grounded in reality.

Is it enough to save this sensitive and creative woman?